Edwards and O'Donnell claim Premier Cricket top honours
Date of Event Victorian Premier Cricket: Fri Apr 30, 2021 11:24PM

Richmond batter/wicketkeeper Scott Edwards and Melbourne all-rounder Rhiann O’Donnell have won the Jack Ryder Medal and Una Paisley Medal respectively at this evening’s Premier Cricket Awards at the CitiPower Centre.


O’Donnell polled 33 votes, finishing two clear of Box Hill’s Zoe Griffiths on 31 votes. Essendon Maribyrnong Park Ladies’ Elyse Villani finished on 20 votes in third place.


For O’Donnell, the season saw her make 488 runs and take 25 wickets for the Demons. She becomes the third Melbourne player in five years to win the Una Paisley Medal.


The win is all the more special for O’Donnell who is based in Mildura and commuted to Melbourne for club commitments on a weekly basis. O’Donnell made her Victorian debut during the 2018-19 season and has played WBBL for both the Renegades and the Hurricanes.


In winning tonight’s Ryder count, Edwards become the first Richmond player since England international Paul Collingwood MBE won the Ryder Medal in a tie with Ringwood’s Darren Dempsey in 2001. Edwards is only the second Tiger to win the medal since the Ryder Medal’s introduction in 1973.


Tonga-born Edwards polled 37 votes, finishing two votes clear of Carlton’s Evan Gulbis on 35 while Prahran’s Damon Egan finished third on 34 votes.


Edwards, who has represented the Netherlands in international cricket on numerous occasions, scored 637 runs for the season, averaging 45.5.


Those runs had him seventh on the list of top run scorers and he completed 22 dismissals behind the stumps.


Jack Ryder Medal

Scott Edwards (Richmond)


Una Paisley Medal

Rhiann O’Donnell (Melbourne)


Women’s Premier Cricket Awards


Women’s Premier Firsts Best First Season Player

Isabel White (Box Hill)


Women’s Premier Seconds Player of the Season (Sue Woolcock Award)

Hasrat Gill (Melbourne)


Women’s Premier Thirds Player of the Season

Tegan French (Essendon Maribyrnong Park Ladies)


Kookaburra Women’s Premier Team of the Season

Teagan Parker (C) (WK) – Melbourne

Tiana Atkinson – Dandenong

Makinley Blows – Essendon Maribyrnong Park Ladies

Bhavisha Devchand – Ringwood

Kim Garth – Dandenong

Zoe Griffiths – Box Hill

Olivia Henry – Ringwood

Anna O’Donnell – Melbourne

Rhiann O’Donnell – Melbourne

Natalie Schilov – Essendon Maribyrnong Park Ladies

Laura Shaw – Ringwood

Ellen Williams – Prahran


Men’s Premier Cricket Awards


Men’s Premier Seconds Player of the Season

Jack Wrigglesworth (Geelong)


Men’s Premier Thirds Player of the Season

Jacob Hind and Jordan Hesline (Tied) (Richmond)


Men’s Premier Fourths Player of the Season

Oscar Gordon (Essendon)


Kookaburra Men’s Premier Team of the Season

Eamonn Vines (C) – Geelong

Scott Edwards (WK) – Richmond

Damon Egan – Prahran

Evan Gulbis – Carlton

Fergus O’Neill – Melbourne

Eddy O’Sullivan – Carlton

James Nanopoulos – Dandenong

Thomas Rogers – Ringwood

James Seymour – Essendon

Henry Thornton – St Kilda

Matt Wilcox – Prahran

Kyle Williamson - Melbourne 

Last updated: Saturday May 1, 2021 11:51AM