Dandenong crowned Women's 1st XI Premiers
Date of Event Victorian Premier Cricket: Mon Mar 29, 2021 5:00PM
Dandenong celebrate with the Anges McDonell Perpetual Cup Pic: Chris Thomas

Cricket Victoria congratulates Dandenong Cricket Club after their win in the Kookaburra Women’s Premier 1sts Final on Sunday at the CitiPower Centre.


In a nail-biting comeback, the Panthers held off Box Hill to cap a rise from bottom of the table last season, to premiers in 2020-21.


Title success looked unlikely when Box Hill reached 1-103 in pursuit of Dandenong’s first innings total of 182.


But when Kim Garth (4-34) removed Anna Lanning (60 from 67 balls) the momentum swung.


Lanning put on 77 for the first wicket with Rebecca Carter (25) before the side brought up their 100 in the 19th over.


But the Mustangs lost their final nine wickets for 71 to fall eight runs short.


Earlier Garth hit 52, but five wickets to Hayleigh Brennan (5-32) prevented Dandenong from posting a larger total.


Garth was awarded the Betty Wilson Medal as Kookaburra Player of the Match.


The Final was broadcast live on Kayo for the first time and was played a day after Victoria featured in the Women’s National Cricket League Final.




Match Result:
Dandenong 182 (50.0 overs) defeated Box Hill 174 (48.3 overs)


View Scorecard

Last updated: Monday March 29, 2021 5:16PM