Melbourne takes WP1 title
Date of Event Victorian Premier Cricket: Sun Mar 10, 2019 8:51PM

Melbourne has defeated Prahran by three wickets in the Women's Premier Firsts Final today at the Junction Oval.


In an engrossing Final, Prahran batted first and were dismissed in the 45th over for 159. Skipper Emma Inglis (29) top-scored, with other 20s from Rhys McKenna, Erica Kershaw, Merinda Hale and Molly Ward. Stephanie Townsend (3/16), Hayleigh Brennan (2/14), Anna O'Donnell (2/27) and Tegan Orwin (2/28) shared the wickets.


Melbourne's response began well with Amy Yates (58) and Amy Vine (28) putting on 79 for the first wicket, but Alana King (3/14), Jaide Anthony (1/29) and Erica Kershaw (2/35) bowling tightly, the chase became tense until Ella Hayward (18), Breannon Sutton (8*) and Hayleigh Brennan (5*) got the Demons home.


Amy Yates was awarded the Betty Wilson Medal for the Player of the Final.


It was Melbourne's first Women's Firsts title, to go with the Seconds flag they won last weekend.


Melb 7-161 (Yates 58 King 3-14) d Prah 159 (Townsend 3-16)





























Last updated: Sunday March 10, 2019 8:56PM